Thursday, December 15, 2016

Maps of Catholic Church Top-Level Jurisdictions (Latin and Eastern Rites!)

I made a map of the top-level divisions of the worldwide Catholic Church based on Sasha Trubetskoy's earlier work, fixing a few of the errors in the earlier map by delineating some of the new (and old) missionary territories in basically all the continents.

Here also is a map wherein the different types of top-level jurisdictions are coloured by type.
UPDATE: The Ethiopian Latin church territories are delineated in this map and the Alexandrian Rite is shifted to a new map.

Points of ambiguity:
Macau: The Diocese of Macau today only administers the Macau Peninsula, not the inland Guangzhou Province areas.
China: The approximate Vatican-recognised diocesan map of China is taken from this link. The de-facto organisation today follows the present provincial boundaries more closely e.g. the Archbishop of Changsha also administers the other dioceses throughout Hunan province, even the exempt Prefectures.

Click to enlarge
Kenya: The Apostolic Vicariate of Isiolo is taken to cover the district of Isiolo
South Africa: The Apostolic Vicariate of Ingwavuma is taken to cover the uMkhanyakude district in KwaZulu-Natal. Interestingly, the websites quotes this area as suffragan to Durban Province.
Libya: No sources are available on how the territories are split up between Tripoli, Derna, Benghazi and Misurata.
Nigeria: The map takes the Apostolic Vicariate of Bomadi to cover Delta State and the Apostolic Vicariate of Kontagora to cover Niger State. The real boundaries are most likely different (Bomadi also has parishes in Rivers and Bayelsa States).
Ethiopia and Eritrea: Eritrea has no Latin rite jurisdiction. The Alexandrian Eparchies of Ethiopia do not overlap with the Latin Apostolic Vicariates (and Prefecture) in the country.

Norway: Approximate boundaries drawn between Oslo, Tromsø, and Trondheim with reference to this map.
Hungary: The Abbacy of Pannonhalma has a number of very small exclaves, which I have not included in this map.

Other changes added to original map:
Mission Territories in Central and South America: Delineated boundaries for Apostolic Vicariates in Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Paraguay, Guatemala, Chile (Aysén) and Panama (Darién).
Missing jurisdictions: Added Province of Papeete (French Polynesia), Province of Malta, Mission Sui Iuris of Saint Helena, Ascension and Trista da Cunha, Diocese of São Tomé and Príncipe, and Apostolic Vicariate of San Andrés y Providencia to previously empty ocean.

China: Xinjiang, Xining, and Hainan are independent territories, whereas Tibet is under the Diocese of Kangding (Chongqing Province). Again, I referred to this link for the many changes.
Bhutan: Bhutan is part of the Diocese of Darjeeling (Calcutta Province)
Switzerland, Laos, Cambodia, Timor-Leste: All dioceses and territories are exempt.
Indonesia: Riau Archipelago islands are under Palembang Province (earlier map mistakenly mis-assigned islands to Medan and Kuching). The Diocese of Weetebula (Sumba Island) is suffragan to Kupang (previously mis-assigned to Ende).
Pakistan: The Apostolic Vicariate of Quetta is exempt.
Thailand: The Diocese of Chanthaburi is suffragan to Bangkok.
Scotland: Glasgow Province occupies a very much smaller territory (previously also mistakenly included Galloway and Borders areas).
Faroe Islands: part of the Diocese of Copenhagen (previously mis-assigned to Province of Edinburgh and St. Andrews)

Australia: The Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn occupies also a sizeable part of NSW, and the Northern Territories are covered under Diocese of Darwin, which is in turn suffragan to Adelaide.
Sakhalin: The Apostolic Prefecture of Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk is exempt (previously included in Moscow Province).
Italy: The (very small) exempt territories in the vicinity of Rome are delineated (previously included in Rome Province).
Greece: The Apostolic Vicariate of Thessalonica is exempt.
France: Metz and Strasbourg are exempt.
Argentina: The Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján is exempt.
St. Pierre and Miquelon: The Apostolic Vicariate of Iles Saint Pierre and Miquelon is exempt.

Eastern Rite Catholic Church Maps:

Byzantine Rite: Albanian, Italo-Albanian, Bulgarian, Belarusian, Greek, Hungarian, Macedonian, Melkite, Romanian, Ruthenian, Russian, Slovak, Ukrainian and Byzantine (In Croatia, Slovenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Serbia) Catholic Churches

Alexandrian Rite: Coptic, Ethiopic and Etitrean Catholic Churches, each with their own province

Armenian Rite: Armenian Catholic Church

Antiochian Rite: Maronite, Syrian and Syro-Malankara Catholic Churches (with detail)

Syro-Oriental Rite: Chaldean and Syro-Malabar Catholic Churches (with detail)

Sasha Trubetskoy: Catholic Provinces: Redux
Dominus Vobiscum (Sina)